Site icon

University of California Riverside

UCR Logo

UC Riverside


The roots of the campus date back to 1907 when the California State Legislature established the Citrus Experiment Station to conduct research on the agricultural problems of Southern California. Graduate work was conducted early in the station’s history, and today, graduate education is central to its mission.

In 1948 the Regents approved the establishment of the College of Letters and Science. Necessary legislation was passed by the Academic Senate in 1951, and the college opened for classes in February 1954. The Riverside campus was declared a general campus by act of the Regents in 1959, with a mandate to develop appropriate areas of study. In 1960, the Graduate Division was established, and graduate and professional programs were added.

Academic Programs:

UCR offers Bachelor degree programs in 78 majors, 50 Master’s degree programs, 38 PhD. Programs and 17 state teaching credentials. Academic units are: the College of Humanities, Arts and Social Sciences; the College of Natural and Agricultural Sciences; the Marlan and Rosemary Bourns College of Engineering; the A. Gary Anderson Graduate School of Management; and the Graduate School of Education. The Division of Biomedical Sciences partners with UCLA to offer a path to a medical degree. University Extension offers continuing education to the community as well as English Instruction to thousands of international students each year.

Economic Impact:

UCR has a combined economic impact in the state of California of nearly $1 billion, with more than 70 percent of this economic activity benefiting the Inland Empire. Not only is the campus a robust economic engine, but through the creation of new knowledge, it also benefits the local, regional, and statewide economies by providing highly skilled workers and discoveries that can be applied to new products and services.

Click Here For More Information

University of California, Riverside News

Exit mobile version